Quick Escape

Clicking the ‘Quick Escape’ button will take you away from this site swiftly and open a new webpage. If you are afraid your internet or computer usage is being monitored, please try to use a safe computer. If you are in danger and seeking safety, call YWCA Cass Clay at (701) 232-3449.

Women of the Year

Women of the Year



Attend in person or tune in virtually for this 50th annual event!

Since 1973, we have been shining a spotlight on exceptional women. They are leaders, mentors, visionaries, angels, and heroes. Help us highlight women who shape the Fargo-Moorhead community. You will honor her and inspire others when you nominate an individual or business with passion, service, and significant achievements to be recognized at this widely-celebrated event.

This year’s Women of the Year event – the 50th annual – will be held on April 24, 2023.

For questions regarding Women of the Year sponsorship opportunities please contact Jill at woty@ywcacassclay.org or 701.232.2547.

Nominations have closed for YWCA Women of the Year 2023. Have someone in mind for a future nomination? Complete the nominee idea form and YWCA will reach out when nominations open again in January 2024.

Congratulations to the YWCA Women of the Year 2023 Nominees!

Wendy Allen
Warm Blanket Hugs and Preferred Coupon Book

Katie Beedy
Tellwell Story Co.

Amy Benedict
Blue Cross Blue Shield of North Dakota

Dr. Anne Blackhurst
Minnesota State University Moorhead

Tara Bowen
Family Healthcare, Homeless Health Services

Nicole Davidson
The Title Company

Heather Gades
North Dakota State University – Dept. of Residence Life

Vanessa Gallagher
Transitional Supported Employment of Minnesota

Precious Garpeh-Dweh

Dr. Kara Gravley-Stack
Minnesota State University Moorhead

Sasha Holmes
Regency Title, Inc.

Sally Jacobson
Red River Zoo

Kayla Jones
North Dakota State University

Trisha Lake
TLC Cleaning

Sheri Larson
Moorhead Business Association

Natalie Lemnus
Emerging Prairie

Addison Loerzel
Addie’s Royal Cupcake Stand/Addie’s Spread Your Sunshine

Amy Longtin
Fargo Park District and Tech4Kids

Kathy Lonski
Sanford Ambulance

Sharon Miller

Pastor Karin Moberg
Shepherd of the Prairie Lutheran Parish

Julie Norris
Rustad Recreation Center

Michelle Parkinson
Prairie St. John’s

Katie Peterson
YMCA of Cass and Clay Counties

Tanya RedRoad
Indigenous Association

Cairn Reisch

Marjorie Schlossman
Artist and Painting Instructor

Suzanne Senske

Trisha Stibbe
GiGi’s Playhouse

Chelsey Strand
Box of Balloons

Jennifer Swenson
Kindred Area Arts Partnership

Kate Syverson
Sanford Health Fargo

Tiffany Taylor
Elite Massage Academy

Pastor Megan Tee
West Fargo Eats. and Lutheran Church of the Cross

Rachel Thurs
Great North Insurance, a division of HUB International Great Plains

Sharon Traylor
Roots Hair and Soul

Samantha Turner Photography

Jordan Wiedmann
Saint Sophie’s Psychiatric Center

Britni Wyum
Faith + Journey Lutheran Church

Aimee Zachrison
Oak Grove Lutheran School

Helene Zelaya
Peace Corps and Together Women Rise


Are you a past Nominee? Do you know someone who is?

In 2023, YWCA will celebrate the milestone of 50 years of honoring individuals and businesses at the Women of the Year event. If you are a past nominee, please share some information so we can be in touch about this year’s event.


Nominations are accepted each year in 13 categories.

  • Advocating for Equality
  • Arts & Culture
  • Business Management & Entrepreneurship
  • Communications
  • Community & Volunteer Service
  • Education
  • Faith Community
  • Health & Wellness
  • Lifetime Achievement
  • Science & Technology
  • Young Woman of Today & Tomorrow
  • Youth Advocacy
  • Leader in Women’s Empowerment

Download category descriptions

Please note: In the event we receive an extraordinarily high number of nominations in any given year, YWCA Cass Clay may close nominations early in order to ensure an event of reasonable length. If this occurs, YWCA may reach out about reserving your nomination for a subsequent year in order to best honor and respect the time and efforts of nominees and their nominators.

Congratulations to our 2022 YWCA Women of the Year Recipients!

Back row, from left: Desi Fleming, Kari Uzzle, Judy Lewis, Dr. Margaret Fitzgerald, Zoe Bundy, Amanda McKinnon, and Bethany Berkeley. Front row, from left: Abby Haugen, Angela Hedstrom, Karen Moore, and Jean Zimmerman.

For a full list of past Women of the Year recipients, click here.


See photos from the 2022 YWCA Women of the Year event