Quick Escape

Clicking the ‘Quick Escape’ button will take you away from this site swiftly and open a new webpage. If you are afraid your internet or computer usage is being monitored, please try to use a safe computer. If you are in danger and seeking safety, call YWCA Cass Clay at (701) 232-3449.

Women of the Year

Women of the Year

YWCA Cass Clay held its 49th Annual Women of the Year event on Monday, April 25, 2022 at Delta by Marriott. This year’s event honored 27 women from Cass and Clay counties whose lives, talents, and passions shape our community. The evening culminated in the announcement of the 2022 YWCA Cass Clay Women of the Year recipients in 11 different categories.

Back row, from left: Desi Fleming, Kari Uzzle, Judy Lewis, Dr. Margaret Fitzgerald, Zoe Bundy, Amanda McKinnon, and Bethany Berkeley. Front row, from left: Abby Haugen, Angela Hedstrom, Karen Moore, and Jean Zimmerman.

Congratulations to our 2022 YWCA Women of the Year Recipients!

Judy Lewis
Fargo Moorhead Community Theatre

Arts & Culture

Bethany Berkeley
Dale Carnegie Training of North Dakota and NW Minnesota

Business Management & Entrepreneurship

Amanda McKinnon
Mint Brand Marketing


Angela Hedstrom
Fargo Housing and Redevelopment Authority

Community & Volunteer Service

Dr. Margaret Fitzgerald
North Dakota State University


Karen Moore
Fargo Public Schools

Faith Community

Desi Fleming
Fargo Cass Public Health

Health & Wellness

Abby Haugen
Sanford Health

Science & Technology

Zoe Bundy
Davies High School Student

Young Woman of Today & Tomorrow

Kari Uzzle
YMCA of Cass and Clay Counties

Youth Advocacy

Jean Zimmerman
Offutt Family Foundation

Florence Reed Owens Lifetime Achievement


See photos from the 2022 YWCA Women of the Year event





When nominations open in January, we will send you a reminder of your nomination ideas and a copy of the nomination form.


Nominations are accepted each year in 13 categories.

  • Advocating for Equality
  • Arts & Culture
  • Business Management & Entrepreneurship
  • Communications
  • Community & Volunteer Service
  • Education
  • Faith Community
  • Health & Wellness
  • Lifetime Achievement
  • Science & Technology
  • Young Woman of Today & Tomorrow
  • Youth Advocacy
  • Leader in Women’s Empowerment

Download category descriptions

For a full list of past Women of the Year recipients, click here.



In 2023, YWCA will celebrate the milestone of 50 years of honoring individuals and businesses at the Women of the Year event. If you are a past nominee, please share some information so we can be in touch about this year’s event.